• Call Us : 0484-2837540,9188623740
  • Email Us : mail@bmcca.edu.in



The University Grants Commission (UGC) has directed all the Universities in the country to restructure undergraduate courses on ‘Choice based Credit Semester and Grading pattern’ in 2009-10 academic year. The M.G. University regulations are framed in accordance with UGC guidelines on restructuring undergraduate education. Accordingly, all affiliated colleges have restructured the regular non-professional undergraduate courses on the Choice Based Credit Semester System (CBCSS), a combination of internal and external evaluation with grading.


  • The three year undergraduate programme will be divided into 6 semesters, each semester consisting of a minimum of 90 working days, inclusive of examinations, distributed over 18 five-day academic weeks. The duration of the odd semesters will be from June to October and even semesters from December to April. There will be 2 semester breaks of one month duration in November and May.
  • The time table shall be set according to the Day order system to provide proper distribution of working days for all courses. There will be a common calendar giving schedule of admission, classes, Internal and External examinations, evaluation and publication of results. The structure of the semester system will be as follows: Common Courses: which will include compulsory courses in English and additional Languages. Core Courses: which include methodology courses and courses on the subject of specialisation, one elective and one project which will be compulsory for all students doing a particular programme.Complementary Courses: which include courses the study of which would complement the study of the subject of specialisation, which will be compulsory for all students doing a particular programme.
  • Open Courses: which include all courses other than courses in the area of specialisation of the student concerned, the choice which will be decided by preferences of students and availability of teachers.
  • Terminology
    Credit: is a unit of academc input measured in terms of weekly contact hours assigned to a course. There could be 4 credit, 3 credit and 2 credit courses. The number of courses could vary from 30 to 38 depending on the credits assigned to different courses. At least 120 credits is needed for securing an under graduate degree in a programme.
    Grace Grade: means upgraded grades awarded to courses in recognition of meritorious achievements in NCC, NSS, sports and arts.
    Extra credits: are additional credits awarded to a student over and above the minimum credits required for a programme for achievements in co-curricular activities carried out outside the class hours as decided by the University.
    Attendance: 75% attendance is compulsory for appearing external examinations.
    Examination: There shall be both continuous Internal Evaluation and end semester External Evaluation. The ratio between Internal and External examinations will be 1:3.
    Evaluation: The Evaluation of both Internal and External Examinations will be carried out using direct grading system on a 5 point scale (A,B,C,D and E). Over all certification of a programme will be carried out using 7 point scale (A+, A, B+, B, C+, C and D).
  • A separate minimum of grade D for Internal and External are required for a pass for a course. For a pass in a programme, a separate minimum of grade D is required for all the courses and must score a minimum cumulated credit 120 and minimum Cumulated Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 2.00 (or an overall grade of C+) and above.
  • There will be no supplementary examinations. For reappearance/improvement, students can appear alongwith the next batch. Students who is not eligible for condonation of shortage of attendance should repeat the course alongwith the next batch.
  • A student who register his/her name for the external examination of a semester (i.e., having a minimum of grade D in the Internals for all courses and a minimum of 75% attendance.) will be eligible for promotion to the next semester.
  • The overall grade for certification will be based on CGPA with 7 point scale given below.
  • Grievance Redressal Mechanism
    A three level grievance redressal mechanism is envisaged to address the grievance of students.
    Level 1: Department Level- Chaired by the H.O.D.
    Level 2: College Level- Chaired by the Principal
    Level 3: university level- chaired by the vice chancellor

All Rights Reserved © Bharata Mata College of Commerce and Arts | Developed By Jay4web